UML  «Prev  Next»
Lesson 5Four views into the software development process
Objective Define the four classifications of the models included in the UML.

Four Views into the Software Development Process

With any complex subject there is a need to organize details into manageable groups or categories.
The UML diagrams have been grouped to provide some insight into how they are commonly applied. The four groups are referred to as views: the use case view, the logical view, the component view, and the deployment view.
Each view includes one or more diagrams that are well suited for representing that aspect of the system. However, these views are defined purely for communication purposes and should not be interpreted as the only way the models may be applied.
Four views
Four views

Four views

The four views address typical problems encountered in developing software.
First, the developer must figure out what the users want (the use case view). Then the developer has to represent his or her notion of what the system would do and how it would work (the logical view). Next the software has to be constructed and packaged in a way that will allow it to be managed (the component view). Finally, the software must be installed and managed in a particular hardware environment (the deployment view).

Model Grouping

The grouping of models is by no means unanimous. One team adds a concurrency view. Others make up their own groupings.
We are trying here to keep consistent with the documentation you will find with the UML specification.
In the next four lessons, a description of each view and the diagrams contained within them will be provided.
The rest of the course is devoted to a complete description of each diagram.
In the next lesson, the use case view will be discussed.